What Happens When You Get a DUI in PA if You’re Under 21?

For the past several years, Kalikhman & Rayz, LLC has been defending individuals facing DUI charges. That being said, we know how difficult it can be to face up to the idea of having a DUI on your record. As one of the premium DUI lawyers in Montgomery County, PA, and the surrounding areas, we’re here to help at all times.

But what do you do if you are facing a DUI in PA and you are under 21?

Penalties and Consequences

If you’re caught driving under the influence in PA and you are below the legal drinking age, there are strict penalties. These include a mandatory license suspension of 12 months and a fine in the region of $500-$5000. This is the case even if it’s your first offense and there is only a small amount of alcohol in your system. If it’s your second or third offense, then the penalties are far more severe.

Specifics to Pennsylvania Law

In Pennsylvania, if you are in the position of being arrested for drunk driving, you will be charged automatically under the state’s High Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) tier. Once this happens, you are likely to get an automatic ban from driving for 12 months alongside a fine. The Birchfield ruling of 2016 may have an impact on your case, so call us today to discuss this in more detail.

Other Information

For drivers who are younger than 21 years of age, they are legally drunk when their blood alcohol concentration is .02% or more. For most young people this is equal to the consumption of just one beer.

Those who are caught drunk driving below the age of 18 will be punished under the Pennsylvania Juvenile Act. This often includes probation, institutionalization, or fines. Call us today to discuss this in more detail.

If you are looking to hire a reputable drunk driving attorney in Bucks County, PA, or surrounding areas, please don’t hesitate to call us at 215-792-2963 or contact us here.